Black Lawrence Press
Contemporary Literature & Non-Fiction
Each year Black Lawrence Press will award The Big Moose Prize for an unpublished novel. The prize is open to new, emerging, and established writers. The winner of this contest will receive book publication, a $1,000 cash award, and ten copies of the book. Prizes will be awarded on publication. Past winners include Tracy DeBrincat and Jen Michalski.

Entry period: December 1 - January 31 

The Big Moose Prize


How to submit:

In order to reduce the costs of printing and postage and in the spirit of being a bit greener, Black Lawrence Press now accepts electronic submissions rather than hard copies for our contests. Please submit your manuscript and submission fee via Submittable.

All manuscripts should include a title page, table of contents, and when appropriate, an acknowledgments page. Manuscripts should be paginated and formatted in an easy-to-read font such as Garamond or Times New Roman. Manuscripts should be 90-1,000 pages in length, not including front and back matter (table of contents, title page, etc.). Please include a brief bio or something about yourself in your cover note on Submittable.

Need help with our submissions manager? 


The annual deadline for the prize is January 31. We accept entries starting December 1.

About the judges:

Black Lawrence Press does not use interns to screen entries. All entries are judged by the editors.


All finalists and semi-finalists will be announced on the Black Lawrence Press blog. All finalists will be announced on or before April 15 of each year. The winner will be announced shortly thereafter.

Other Notes:

​Simultaneous submissions are acceptable and encouraged, but please notify us by withdrawing your manuscript on Submittable immediately if it is accepted for publication elsewhere.

All finalists will be considered for standard publication. In addition to each year's winner, Black Lawrence Press often offers standard publication to one or more other finalists. 

Thank you for your interest in Black Lawrence Press. 
2012 Winner Jen Michalski
by Jen Michalski

ISBN 978-1-937854-37-9 $18.00
by Tracy DeBrincat

ISBN 978-0-9828766-8-8 $18.00